Cooke County Jr. Livestock Show

Today's Youth, Tomorrow's Leaders

About Us imageAbout Us imageAbout Us image
The Cooke County Junior Livestock Show was established to support the 4-H, FFA & FCCLA youth of Cooke County. A 501C3 organization, the show is held each year in January for youth to showcase their project work, receive recognition for their efforts and develop leadership and teamwork skills. All of this provides important opportunities for positive youth development. School FCCLA & FFA program participants include Callisburg, Era, Gainesville, Lindsay, Muenster & Valley View. Cooke County 4-H program participants include students attending public Cooke County schools, St. Mary's Catholic School, Sacred Heart Catholic School and home schooled students.

The show is governed by a board of directors who annually elect a General Superintendent, Assistant General Superintendent, Secretary and Treasurer. Directors include Ag Science Teachers, FCCLA Advisors, County Extension Agents and one representative from each school/agency/community. One additional director representing each division of the show are: Beef, Goats, Poultry, Sheep, Equine, Dairy Cattle, Rabbits, Swine, Shop & FCS.

2022-23 Officers

General Superintendent - Jeff Hellman
Assistant General Superintendent - K.D. Weaver
Secretary - Kelly Huston
Treasurer - Beverly Fleitman

2023 Division Superintendents

Equine - Christyna Knott
Dairy Cattle - Wayne Becker
Beef Cattle - Tony Clark
Rabbits - Zachary Downe/Elizabeth Huchton
Poultry - Yvonne Sandmann
Sheep & Goats - Justin Little
Shop/Ag Mechanics - Corbin Evans
Swine - Mike Howe
Family & Consumer Science (FCS) - Joni Sturm

2023 Rule Book

The 2023 show rules, regulations and guidelines can be accessed here.

Read More

All Equine, Livestock, Ag Mechanic/Shop & Abilities United Shows will take place at the Cooke County Fairgrounds, 1901 Justice Center Blvd., Gainesville, TX. The FCS Show will be held at First Christian Church, 401 N. Dixon St., Gainesville, TX The Premium Sale will be held at the Cooke County Fairgrounds  

Monday, January 2, 2023

09:00 AM
Equine Show Check-in
10:00 AM
Equine Show Begins

Wednesday, January 4, 2023

08:00 AM
Beef Heifer & Dairy Heifer Check-in; Steer Weigh-in
Location: Cooke County Fairgrounds

Beef & Dairy Heifers - Check-in at registration table near office at Southeast corner of show barn.

Steers weigh-in at scales located at the Southwest corner of the show barn

10:00 AM
Dairy Cattle Show
10:00 AM
Poultry Check-in
Location: Southeast end of show barn

Check-in of all Broiler pens and Breeding poultry.

11:00 AM
Market Steer Show

(or at the completion of the Dairy Cattle Show)

12:00 PM - 05:00 PM
FCS Drop off/check-in
Location: First Christian Church, 401 N. Dixon St., Gainesville, TX
12:00 PM
Poultry Show

Breeding followed by Market Broilers

01:00 PM
Breeding Beef Heifer Show

(or at the conclusion of the Market Steer Show)

Thursday, January 5, 2023

07:30 AM
Rabbit Check-in
Location: Southeast corner of show barn
08:00 AM
Rabbit Show

Meat Pens (Market) followed by Breeding Rabbits

08:00 AM
Lamb & Goat Weigh-in/Classification

Lamb weigh-in first, followed by Goats
Scales will be located at the Southwest corner of the show barn

09:00 AM
FCS Show Judging
Location: First Christian Church, 401 N. Dixon St., Gainesville, TX
10:00 AM
Lamb Show

Breeding Lambs, followed by Market Lambs

12:00 PM
Goat Show

Dairy, followed by Breeding, followed by Market Goats

04:00 PM - 06:00 PM
FCS Show Viewing
Location: First Christian Church, 401 N. Dixon St., Gainesville, TX
04:00 PM
Swine Arrival Begins

(no unloading swine until conclusion of the goat show)

06:00 PM - 08:00 PM
Swine Classification/Weigh-in

Weigh-in Order:
1. All 4-H Club Entries
2. Callisburg FFA
3, Era FFA
4. Gainesville FFA
5. Lindsay FFA
6. Muenster FFA
7. Valley View FFA

Friday, January 6, 2023

09:00 AM
Swine Show

Breeding Swine, followed by Market Swine

09:00 AM - 12:00 PM
FCS Viewing
Location: First Christian Church, 401 N. Dixon St., Gainesvillem, TX
10:00 AM
Shop/Ag Mechanics Projects in Place
12:00 PM - 01:00 PM
FCS Project Pick-up
Location: First Christian Church, 401 N. Dixon St., Gainesville, TX

All FCS entries must be picked up. Any projects not picked up will be sent with FCCLA Sponsor and/or 4-H Extension Agent. Please have your claim check with you to pick up your entries.

01:00 PM
Shop/Ag Mechanics Show

Saturday, January 7, 2023

12:00 PM
Supporter's/Buyers Luncheon

Luncheon is for registered buyers and sponsors of the Cooke County Jr. Livestock Show

12:30 PM
United Way Group Photo

All 2023 exhibitors should assemble in the bleachers on the east side of the show ring for a group photo. Exhibitors are encouraged to wear their 2023 Jr. Livestock Show t-shirt.

01:00 PM
Premium Sale

Heather Young


Blake Hoegger

Dairy Cattle

Todd Vineyard

Steers & Heifers

Brian Lowe


Tony Bell


Cade Halfmann

Sheep & Goats

Kirk Miller


Warren Mayher

Shop/Ag Mechanics

Equine Results

Results are now posted for our Equine Show. Congratulations to all of our exhibitors!

Dairy Cattle Results

Congratulations to our Dairy Cattle Show Participants. Select the link to view complete results

Market Steer Results

Steer show final results are now available. Congratulations to our participants!

Breeding Heifer Results

Congratulations to our heifer exhibitors today. Final results are here!

Poultry Results

Poultry Show Results are now posted! Congratulations to our exhibitors!

FCS Results

Congratulations to all of our FCS Exhibitors.

Rabbit Results

Congratulations to our rabbit exhibitors. All results are now available.

Lamb Results

Congratulations this morning to our sheep exhibitors. See all the full results here!

Goat Results

Congratulations to our Goat show exhibitors. Full results are now available online!

Swine Results

Congratulations to our swine show exhibitors. Complete results are now available. is our official photographer.

Access all of the photos from our 2023 show here:​​​

Photos can be viewed and ordered through this website.

Award recipients are recognized annually prior to the start of the Premium Sale.
$500 Scholarships are presented in the Memory of the following individuals:

Amy Bryant Kirkpatrick
Missy Dangelmayr
Doug Anderle
Herky Biffle
Pete Shauf

2023 Scholarship Applications are due to be submitted by Friday, December 9, 2022. High School Seniors, graduating in 2023, should complete the application from the link provided below and submit.

2023 Scholarship Application

Sale will begin at 1:00 pm on Saturday, January 7, 2023. Buyers must register for a bidder number prior to the sale. Complementary lunch will be served at NOON for all registered buyers. Buyer Registration will open at 11:00 am at the Southeast end of the show barn. Look for registration tables near the show office. Volunteers will be available to help buyers with registration and any questions. Payment for purchases can be made on sale day (preferred) or mailed to the show's PO Box address.

2023 Sale Order

Our 2023 Sale Order and add-on list is now official. Select the "learn more" button below to view and download.

Learn More


Chisam Cain


Learn More
  • Mailing Address: PO Box 83 Era, TX 76238